jrsoli.blogg.se

Turnabout intruder
Turnabout intruder














#TURNABOUT INTRUDER SERIES#

The sexism of the sixties that at times characterizes the series here is practically the protagonist of a story in which a woman, Janice Lester ( Sandra Smith), looks for revenge against Captain Kirk who’s guilty of having made her spend her life alone. Let’s face it: it’s not the last season’s finale that Star Trek would have deserved.

turnabout intruder

On the other hand, I should have expected it: these are just some of the reasons why the series is so big in the pop culture of the second half of the twentieth century and beyond! But let me talk about the last episode: Turnabout Intruder. I’ve pleasantly discovered all this in the last year and a half or so!

turnabout intruder

Of course there are many things that aged badly, with many episodes that don’t work nowadays, but the series was created in a very different historical period from the one we live in (more than 50 years have passed)… Yet, there’s an impressive amount of innovative ideas, the cast works very well, the special effects are remarkable, most directors did a good job, sometimes surprisingly good, and the music and the cinematography (I’ve watched the remastered Bluray edition) were amazing. I am delighted to have finally filled this (unforgivable) gap and I was definitely impressed by the quality of the whole series. Now I know much better all those characters I was already familiar with thanks to the first seven feature films and for their references and appearances in the other Star Trek series that I knew already: The Next Generation and Deep Space Nine.

turnabout intruder

And here we are: this is the last episode of Star Trek: The Original Series, I can hardly believe it! My journey started in December 2018 and it’s ending now, after 78 episodes divided into three seasons.














Turnabout intruder